Bill Summary for S 257 (2017-2018)

Printer-friendly: Click to view

Summary date: 

May 12 2017

Bill Information:

View NCGA Bill Details2017-2018 Session
Senate Bill 257 (Public) Filed Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Intro. by Brown, Harrington, B. Jackson.

View: All Summaries for BillTracking:

Bill summary

Senate amendment #15 makes the following changes to the 2nd edition.

Part VII. Public Schools

Section 7.20

Changes the participating local boards of education in the Teacher Assistant Reimbursement pilot program, beginning with the 2017-18 fiscal year, by removing the Bertie County Schools, Edenton-Chowan Schools, Edgecombe County Schools, Halifax County Schools, Nash-Rocky Mount Schools, Northampton County Schools, Tyrell County Schools, Vance County Schools, and Washington County Schools, and adding Ashe County Schools, Avery County Schools, Jones County Schools, Nash County Schools, New Hanover County Schools, Rowan County Schools, Stanly County Schools, Watauga County Schools, and Yancey County Schools.

Section 7.22

Deletes Section 7.22(d), which requires the Department of Public Instruction to allocate a specified sum of funds in each fiscal year to Northampton County Schools for the Northampton County New Tech Early College and to Washington County Schools for the Washington County Early College High School.

Adds new Section 7.31, stating that no funds are appropriated or allocated for the Eastern North Carolina STEM.

Part XII. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Adds new Section 12.3, stating that no funds are appropriated or allocated to increase the availability of fresh agricultural products in food deserts located in the State.

Part XV. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources

Adds new Section 14.10, stating that (1) no funds are appropriated or allocated for two Park Ranger positions needed to bring new NC Connect bond-funded State Park projects online during the 2017-18 fiscal year, and (2) no funds are appropriated or allocated for operating expenses and four full-time positions to support the Museum's Art Park.

Part XV. Department of Commerce

Section 15.9

Provides that the revised net appropriations for Main Street Solutions is $450,000 for the 2017-18 fiscal year. 

Part XVI. Department of Public Safety

Amends Section 16.4(a). Applies the pilot project for treating opiate overdose described in that section to the cities of Wilmington, Jacksonville, and Hickory, and the Counties of Gaston, Moore, Mitchell, and Watauga (was, applicable to Wilmington only).

Amends Section 16.4(b) to direct the Department of Public Safety to report on the results of the Pilot project to the Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on Justice by February 1, 2019 (was, Department of Public Safety and the City of Wilmington were required to report).

Adds new Section 16.4(c). Provides a revised net appropriation for the Governor’s Crime Commission of $2,462,178 for 2017-18. Allocates $1,805,215 for 2017-18 for pilot projects under Section 16.4(a).

Part XXV. Office of the Governor

Adds new section as follows.

Section 25.1. Eliminates the Federal Legislative Programs Coordinator position.