Bill Summaries: all (2021)

  • Summary date: Apr 6 2021 - View summary

    Includes whereas clauses. Creates the 19-member Task Force to Study Adverse Childhood Experiences (Task Force). Provides for Task Force membership, made of of eight various deputies, directors, and deputy secretaries of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) and the Department of Public Safety (DPS), as well as two pediatricians appointed by the NC Pediatric Society, two child psychologists appointed by the NC Psychology Association, two county social services directors appointed by the Governor, two county commissioners appointed legislatively appointed by the President Pro Tempore and the Speaker of the House, and three members of local boards of education appointed, with one each appointed by the Governor, the President Pro Tempore, and the Speaker. Provides for the Governor to appoint the chair of the Task Force. Provides for Task Force meetings and quorum, vacancies, and member expenses. Provides that the Task Force is housed within DHHS, which is charged with providing meeting space and necessary staff. Directs the Task Force to study the extent, nature, and impact of adverse childhood experiences with particular regard to NC and to make recommendations to address the impacts through State and local government with a particular focus on diversion from the criminal justice system. Requires a report to the specified NCGA committees by December 31, 2022. Terminates the Task Force upon filing its report or December 31, 2022, whichever is later.