Printer-friendly: Click to view
  • Summary date: Mar 7 2023 - View Summary

    Includes whereas clauses.

    Appropriates $2,128,000 for each fiscal year of the 2023-25 biennium from the General Fund to the UNC Board of Governors for the North Carolina New Teacher Support Program (NC NTSP) to enable additional qualifying new graduates of educator preparation programs (EPPs) at UNC constituent institutions in NC public schools to participate in NC NTSP without cost to local school administrative units. Limits the new teachers eligible for funding to those that teach in the following local school administrative units: Anson County Schools, Northampton County Schools, Onslow County Schools, Public Schools of Robeson County, Scotland County Schools, Tyrrell County Schools, Washington County Schools, and Weldon City Schools.

    Requires that the funds be used in programs designed to address the specific and various needs of traditional pathway NC EPP graduates who will begin their teaching careers in NC public schools through a blended model of support that includes: (1) participation in the 2023-24 e-Institute hosted by NC NTSP; (2) an assigned instructional coach familiar with the region and local school context to guide improvements in the teachers' proficiency in planning, instruction, and assessment; and (3) access to and participation in ongoing, career-embedded professional development to meet their emerging needs with consideration of their professional context.

    Effective July 1, 2023.