Bill Summaries: S776 COVID-19 SMALL FARMER RELIEF.

Printer-friendly: Click to view
  • Summary date: May 15 2020 - View Summary

    Sets out NCGA findings.

    Requires the State Controller to transfer $2 million for 2019-20 from the Reserve established in Section 2.1 of SL 2020-4 to the Coronavirus Relief Fund (Fund); appropriates those funds from the Fund to the UNC Board of Governors on a nonrecurring basis to be allocated to NC State University for the Food Processing Innovation Center (Center). Provides that the funds remain available to expend until December 30, 2020. Allows the funds to be used for equipment, supplies, and other nonrecurring expenses related to the Center's instant quick freeze research program and for initiatives related to the processing, preservation, and storage of food during emergencies that adversely impact the food supply chain. Provides that if the allocation of funds is disallowed by federal law, the disallowed allocation is repealed, and the funds must be transferred back to the Reserve. 

    Appropriates $5 million in nonrecurring funds for 2020-21 from the General Fund to the UNC Board of Governors, to be allocated to NC A&T State University for the College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Extension and Farm Pavilion.

    Requires the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to establish partnerships to bring together nonprofit organizations that connect small family farms to food banks and to retail farmers markets and associated local Cooperative Extension Service offices. Requires the partnership to work to limit crop and livestock losses from supply chain interruptions due to COVID-19 and natural disasters.

    Amends GS 105-153.5 to allow a taxpayer to deduct from the taxpayer's adjusted gross income up to $100,000 of income that is derived from agricultural land, and appraised, assessed, and tax in accordance with GS 105-277.3 (Agricultural, horticultural, and forestland). Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021.