Printer-friendly: Click to view
  • Summary date: Apr 25 2019 - View Summary

    Appropriates from federal Mental Health Block Grant funds $500,000 for each of the 2019-20 and the 2020-21 fiscal years to the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services (Department). Restricts use of the funds to a two-year Peer Wellness Center pilot program. Requires the program to have two Peer Wellness Centers, one each in a rural community and urban community. Details requirements of the Peer Wellness Centers (Centers) in serving individuals with severe mental illness, regardless of the funding sources available to the individual, including offering services and supports that enhance mental health recovery, reduce the need for hospitalization, and that are not covered by Medicaid. 

    Directs the Department to accept competitive grant proposals for the pilot Centers for a period of 180 days after the act becomes law. Provides for grant proposal requirements, including how the proposal will improve individuals' physical and mental wellness, reduce the rate of hospitalizations, reduce the use of crisis services, and increase the rate of successful adaptation to community living for individuals participating in the Transitions to Community Living Initiative (Initiative). 

    Requires specified data collection by selected grantees concerning the outcomes of individuals served, use of hospitals and crisis support measures by individuals while being served, number of episodes of urgent support needed by individuals while being served, and the number of individuals serviced who were also participating in the Initiative. Requires each grantee to report the data collected to the Department upon completion of the pilot program, and directs the Department to submit a report to the specified NCGA committee within six months after receipt of the grantees' reports, including recommendations regarding the effectiveness and functionality of the pilot Centers and possible statewide expansion of the pilot program.

    Effective July 1, 2019.