• Summary date: Mar 12 2019 - More information

    Requires the Harnett, Johnston, and Lee County Schools to determine the dates of opening and closing the public schools in their respective school systems in accordance with GS 115C-84.2(a)(1); requires the opening date to be no earlier than the Monday closest to August 19. Provides that these required opening and closing dates do not apply to any school designated as having a modified calendar for the 2003-04 school year or to any school that was part of a planned program in the 2003-04 school year for a system of modified calendar schools, if the school operates under a modified calendar. Applies for the 2019-20 and 2020-21 school years only.

    Requires by October 1, 2021, that the Harnett, Johnston, and Lee County Schools report to the Department of Public Instruction on the implementation of this act, including effects on student achievement and recommendations on the modification, continuation, and potential expansion of the calendar flexibility provided. Requires the Department of Public Instruction to evaluate these reports and provide an aggregated report to the specified NCGA committee by November 15, 2021.

© 2022 School of Government The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

This work is copyrighted and subject to "fair use" as permitted by federal copyright law. No portion of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without the express written permission of the publisher. Distribution by third parties is prohibited. Prohibited distribution includes, but is not limited to, posting, e-mailing, faxing, archiving in a public database, installing on intranets or servers, and redistributing via a computer network or in printed form. Unauthorized use or reproduction may result in legal action against the unauthorized user.

Printer-friendly: Click to view