Bill Summary for S 739 (2021-2022)

Printer-friendly: Click to view

Summary date: 

Oct 29 2021

Bill Information:

View NCGA Bill Details2021
Senate Bill 739 (Public) Filed Friday, October 29, 2021
Intro. by Hise, Daniel, Newton.

View: All Summaries for BillTracking:

Bill summary

Amends GS 120-1 to establish boundaries for 50 single-member senatorial districts for the purpose of nominating and electing members of the Senate in 2022 and every two years thereafter. The districts are composed of the following counties: District 1: Bertie County, Camden County, Currituck County, Dare County, Gates County, Hertford County, Northampton County, Pasquotank County, Perquimans County, Tyrrell County; District 2: Carteret County, Chowan County, Halifax County, Hyde County, Martin County, Pamlico County, Warren County, Washington County; District 3: Beaufort County, Craven County, Lenoir County; District 4: Greene County, Wayne County, Wilson County; District 5: Edgecombe County, Pitt County; District 6: Onslow County; District 7: New Hanover County (portions listed); District 8: Brunswick County, Columbus County, New Hanover County (portions listed); District 9: Bladen County, Duplin County, Jones County, Pender County, Sampson County (portions listed); District 10: Johnston County; District 11: Franklin County, Nash County, Vance County; District 12: Harnett County, Lee County, Sampson County (portions listed); District 13: Granville County, Wake County (portions listed); District 14, 15, 16, 17, 18: Wake County (portions listed); District 19: Cumberland County (portions listed); District 20: Chatham County, Durham County (portions listed); District 21: Cumberland County (portions listed), Moore County; District 22: Durham County (portions listed); District 23: Caswell County, Orange County, Person County; District 24: Hoke County, Robeson County, Scotland County; District 25: Alamance County, Randolph County (portions listed); District 26: Guilford County (portions listed), Rockingham County; District 27, 28: Guilford County (portions listed); District 29: Anson County, Montgomery County, Randolph County (portions listed), Richmond County, Union County (portions listed); District 30: Davidson County, Davie County; District 31: Forsyth County (portions listed), Stokes County; District 32: Forsyth County (portions listed); District 33: Rowan County, Stanly County; District 34, 35: Cabarrus County (portions listed); District 36: Alexander County, Surry County, Wilkes County, Yadkin County; District 37: Iredell County, Mecklenburg County (portions listed); District 38, 39, 40, 41, 42: Mecklenburg County (portions listed); District 43: Gaston County (portions listed); District 44: Cleveland County, Gaston County (portions listed), Lincoln County; District 45: Caldwell County (portions listed), Catawba County; District 46: Buncombe County (portions listed), Burke County, McDowell County; District 47: Alleghany County, Ashe County, Avery County, Caldwell County (portions listed), Haywood County (portions listed), Madison County, Mitchell County, Watauga County, Yancey County; District 48: Henderson County, Polk County, Rutherford County; District 49: Buncombe County (portions listed); District 50: Cherokee County, Clay County, Graham County, Haywood County (portions listed), Jackson County, Macon County, Swain County, Transylvania County.  Applies to elections held on or after January 1, 2022. A map of the Senate districts and related documents are posted on the General Assembly's website here:\Member%20Submitted%20Maps\SST-13