Printer-friendly: Click to view
View NCGA Bill Details2023-2024 Session
Senate Bill 758 (Public) Filed Wednesday, October 18, 2023
Intro. by Hise, Daniel, P. Newton.

Status: Ch. SL 2023-146 (Oct 25 2023)
S 758/S.L. 2023-146

Bill Summaries:

  • Summary date: Oct 25 2023 - View Summary

    AN ACT TO REALIGN THE NORTH CAROLINA SENATE DISTRICTS. SL 2023-146. Enacted October 25, 2023. Effective October 25, 2023.

  • Summary date: Oct 23 2023 - View Summary

    Senate committee substitute to the 1st edition makes the following changes.

    Amends GS 120-1 by changing which portions of: (1) Durham County are in Districts 20 and 22 and (2) Guilford County are in Districts 27 and 28.

    Changes the act's short title.

  • Summary date: Oct 18 2023 - View Summary

    Amends GS 120-1 to establish boundaries for 50 districts for the purpose of nominating and electing members of the North Carolina Senate, effective when the act becomes law.

    The districts are composed of the following counties. District 1: Bertie County, Camden County, Currituck County, Dare County, Gates County, Hertford County, Northampton County, Pasquotank County, Perquimans County, and Tyrrell County. District 2: Carteret County, Chowan County, Halifax County, Hyde County, Martin County, Pamlico County, Warren County, and Washington County. District 3: Beaufort County, Craven County, and Lenoir County.  District 4: Greene County, Wayne County, and Wilson County. District 5: Edgecombe County and Pitt County. District 6: Onslow County. District 7: New Hanover County (portions listed). District 8: Brunswick County, Columbus County, and New Hanover County (portions listed). District 9: Bladen County, Duplin County, Jones County, Pender County, and Sampson County (portions listed). District 10: Johnston County. District 11: Franklin County, Nash County, and Vance County. District 12: Harnett County, Lee County, and Sampson County (portion listed). District 13: Wake County (portions listed). District 14: Wake County (portions listed). District 15: Wake County (portions listed). District 16: Wake County (portions listed). District 17: Wake County (portions listed). District 18: Granville County and Wake County (portions listed). District 19: Cumberland County (portions listed). District 20: Chatham County and Durham County (portions listed). District 21: Cumberland County (portions listed) and Moore County. District 22: Durham County (portions listed). District 23: Caswell County, Orange County, and Person County. District 24: Hoke County, Robeson County, and Scotland County. District 25: Alamance County and Randolph County (portions listed). District 26: Guilford County (portions listed) and Rockingham County. District 27: Guilford County (portions listed). District 28: Guilford County (portions listed). District 29: Anson County, Montgomery County, Randolph County (portions listed), Richmond County, and Union County (portions listed). District 30: Davidson County and Davie County. District 31: Forsyth County (portions listed) and Stokes County. District 32: Forsyth County (portions listed). District 33: Rowan County and Stanly County. District 34: Cabarrus County (portions listed). District 35: Cabarrus County (portions listed) and Union County (portions listed). District 36: Alexander County, Surry County, Wilkes County, and Yadkin County. District 37: Iredell County and Mecklenburg County (portions listed). District 38: Mecklenburg County (portions listed). District 39: Mecklenburg County (portions listed). District 40: Mecklenburg County (portions listed). District 41: Mecklenburg County (portions listed). District 42: Mecklenburg County (portions listed). District 43: Gaston County (portions listed). District 44: Cleveland County, Gaston County (portions listed), and Lincoln County.  District 45: Caldwell County (portions listed) and Catawba County. District 46: Buncombe County (portions listed), Burke County, and McDowell County. District 47: Alleghany County, Ashe County, Avery County, Caldwell County (portions listed), Haywood County (portions listed), Madison County, Mitchell County, Watauga County, and Yancey County. District 48: Henderson County, Polk County, and Rutherford County. District 49: Buncombe County (portions listed). District 50: Cherokee County, Clay County, Graham County, Haywood County (portions listed), Jackson County, Macon County, Swain County, and Transylvania County.