Bill Summary for S 757 (2023-2024)

Printer-friendly: Click to view

Summary date: 

Oct 18 2023
S.L. 2023-145

Bill Information:

View NCGA Bill Details2023-2024 Session
Senate Bill 757 (Public) Filed Wednesday, October 18, 2023
Intro. by Hise, Daniel, P. Newton.

View: All Summaries for BillTracking:

Bill summary

Amends GS 163-201 to divide North Carolina into 14 congressional districts for nominating and electing members of the U.S. House of Representatives. Districts contain the following counties. District 1: Bertie County, Camden County, Chowan County, Currituck County, Edgecombe County, Gates County, Granville County (portions listed), Greene County, Halifax County, Hertford County, Lenoir County, Martin County, Nash County, Northampton County, Pasquotank County, Perquimans County, Tyrrell County, Vance County, Warren County, Washington County, Wayne County, and Wilson County. District 2: Wake County (portions listed). District 3: Beaufort County, Carteret County, Craven County, Cumberland County (portions listed), Dare County, Duplin County, Hyde County, Jones County, Pamlico County, Pitt County, Sampson County. District 4: Chatham County (portions listed), Durham County, Orange County, and Wake County (portions listed). District 5: Alexander County, Alleghany County, Ashe County, Caldwell County, Guilford County (portions listed), Rockingham County, Stokes County, Surry County, Watauga County, and Wilkes County. District 6: Cabarrus County (portions listed), Davidson County, Davie County, Forsyth County (portions listed), Guilford County (portions listed), and Rowan County. District 7: Bladen County, Brunswick County, Columbus County, New Hanover County, Onslow County, Pender County, and Robeson County (portions listed). District 8: Anson County, Cabarrus County (portions listed), Mecklenburg County (portions listed), Montgomery County, Richmond County, Robeson County (portions listed) Scotland County, Stanly County, and Union County. District 9: Alamance County, Chatham County (portions listed), Cumberland County (portions listed), Guilford County (portions listed), Hoke County, Moore County, and Randolph County. District 10: Catawba County, Forsyth County (portions listed), Iredell County, Lincoln County, and Yadkin County. District 11: Avery County, Buncombe County, Cherokee County, Clay County, Graham County, Haywood County, Henderson County, Jackson County, Macon County, Madison County, McDowell County, Mitchell County, Polk County (portions listed), Swain County, Transylvania County, and Yancey County. District 12: Mecklenburg County (portions listed). District 13: Caswell County, Franklin County, Granville County (portions listed), Harnett County, Johnston County, Lee County, Person County, and Wake County (portions listed). District 14: Burke County, Cleveland County, Gaston County, Mecklenburg County (portions listed), and Rutherford County.