Printer-friendly: Click to view
View NCGA Bill Details2021
Senate Bill 740 (Public) Filed Friday, October 29, 2021
Intro. by Hise, Daniel, Newton.

Status: Ch. SL 2021-174 (Nov 4 2021)

Bill History:

S 740/S.L. 2021-174

Bill Summaries:

  • Summary date: Nov 4 2021 - View Summary

    AN ACT TO REALIGN THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOLLOWING THE RETURN OF THE 2020 FEDERAL DECENNIAL CENSUS. SL 2021-174. Enacted Nov. 4, 2021.  Effective Nov. 4, 2021, and applies to elections held on or after January 1, 2022.

  • Summary date: Oct 29 2021 - View Summary

    Amends GS 163-201 to divide North Carolina into 14 congressional districts to nominate and elect members of the U.S. House of Representatives in 2022 and every two years thereafter, as follows. District 1 includes the following counties: Beaufort County, Camden County, Carteret County, Chowan County, Craven County, Currituck County, Dare County, Gates County, Hyde County, Jones County, Lenoir County, Onslow County (portions listed), Pamlico County, Pasquotank County, Perquimans County, Pitt County (portions listed), Tyrrell County. District 2 includes portions of Bertie County, Caswell County, Edgecombe County, Franklin County, Granville County, Greene County, Halifax County, Hertford County, Martin County, Nash County, Northampton County, Person County, Pitt County (portions listed), Vance County, Warren County, Washington County, Wayne County (portions listed), Wilson County. District 3 includes the following counties: Bladen County, Brunswick County, Columbus County, Duplin County, New Hanover County, Onslow County (portions listed), Pender County, Robeson County (portions listed). District 4 includes the following counties:  Cumberland County, Harnett County (portions listed), Johnston County, Sampson County, Wayne County (portions listed). District 5 includes portions of Wake County (portions listed). District 6 includes Durham County, Orange County, Wake County (portions listed). District 7 includes the following counties: Alamance County, Chatham County, Davidson County (portions listed), Guilford County (portions listed), Lee County, Randolph County, Wake County (portions listed). District 8 includes the following counties: Anson County, Hoke County, Mecklenburg County (portions listed), Montgomery County, Moore County, Richmond County, Robeson County (portions listed), Scotland County, Stanly County, Union County. District 9 includes portions of Mecklenburg County. District 10 includes the following counties: Cabarrus County, Davidson County (portions listed), Davie County, Guilford County (portions listed), Iredell County (portions listed), Rowan County. District 11 includes the following counties: Alexander County, Alleghany County, Ashe County, Caldwell County, Guilford County (portions listed), Rockingham County, Stokes County, Surry County, Watauga County (portions listed), Wilkes County. District 12 includes the following counties: Catawba County, Forsyth County, Iredell County (portions listed), Lincoln County, Yadkin County. District 13 includes the following counties: Burke County, Cleveland County, Gaston County, McDowell County, Mecklenburg County (portions listed), Polk County, Rutherford County. District 14 includes the following counties: Avery County, Buncombe County, Cherokee County, Clay County, Graham County, Haywood County, Henderson County, Jackson County, Macon County, Madison County, Mitchell County, Swain County, Transylvania County, Watauga County (portions listed), Yancey County. Applies to elections held on or after January 1, 2022.

    The proposed map and associated files can be found here:\Member%20Submitted%20Maps\CST-13.