Printer-friendly: Click to view
  • Summary date: Mar 23 2021 - View Summary

    Includes whereas clauses.

    Appropriates $2.128 million in nonrecurring funds for each year of the 2021-23 fiscal biennium from the General Fund to the UNC Board of Governors for the North Carolina New Teacher Support Program (NC NTSP) to enable additional qualifying new graduates of traditional pathway NC educator preparation programs (EPPs) to participate in NC NTSP without cost to local school administrative units. Teachers from the following local school administrative units will be eligible: Anson County Schools, Duplin County Schools, Nash-Rocky Mount Schools, Northampton County Schools, Onslow County Schools, Public Schools of Robeson County, Tyrell County Schools, and Washington County Schools.

    Requires these funds to be used in programs designed to address the specific and various needs of traditional pathway NC EPP graduates through a blended model of support that includes: (1) participation in the 2021-22 e-Institute hosted by NC NTSP; (2) an assigned instructional coach familiar to the region and local school context; and (3) access to and participation in ongoing, career-embedded professional development.

    Effective July 1, 2021.