Bill Summaries: H 1030 FARMER-BUTTERFIELDC-1.

Printer-friendly: Click to view
  • Summary date: Nov 13 2019 - View Summary

    Amends GS 163-201(a) to set forth the 13 congressional districts to be used in nominating and electing members of the US House of Representatives in 2020. Provides for the makeup of the districts as follows.

    District 1 consists of: Bertie County; Chowan County; Edgecombe County; Franklin County; Gates County; Pasquotank County; Perquimans County; portions of Pitt County; Warren County; Washington County; and Wilson County. 

    District 2 consists of: portions of Wake County. 

    District 3 consists of: Beaufort County; Camden County; Carteret County; Craven County; Currituck County; Dare County; Greene County; Hyde County; Jones County; Lenoir County; Onslow County; Pamlico County; portions of Pitt County; Tyrrell County; and Wayne County. 

    District 4 consists of: portions of Chatham County; Durham County; Granville County; Lee County; Orange County; portions of Vance County; and portions of Wake County.

    District 5 consists of: Alleghany County; Ashe County; portions of Davidson County: Forsyth County; Rockingham County; Stokes County; Surry County; portions of Watauga County; Wilkes County; and Yadkin County. 

    District 6 consists of: Alamance County; Caswell County; portions of Chatham County; Guilford County; portions of Moore County; and Person County.

    District 7 consists of: portions of Bladen County; Brunswick County; Columbus County; Duplin County; Johnston County; New Hanover County; Pender County; and Sampson County. 

    District 8 consists of: portions of Cabarrus County; portions of Harnett County; portions of Mecklenburg County; Montgomery County; portions of Moore County; Stanly County; and Union County. 

    District 9 consists of: Anson County; portions of Bladen County; Cumberland County; portions of Harnett County; Hoke County; Richmond County; Robeson County; and Scotland County.

    District 10 consists of: Burke County; portions of Caldwell County; Catawba County; Cleveland County; Gaston County; Lincoln County; Polk County; and Rutherford County. 

    District 11 consists of: Avery County; Buncombe County; Cherokee County; Clay County; Graham County; Haywood County; Henderson County; Jackson County; Macon County; Madison County; McDowell County; Mitchell County; Swain County; Transylvania County; portions of Watauga County; and Yancey County.

    District 12 consists of: portions of Mecklenburg County.

    District 13 consists of: portions of Alexander County; portions of Cabarrus County; portions of Caldwell County; portions of Davidson County; Davie County; Iredell County; Randolph County; and Rowan County. 

    Specifies that the districts presented are effective for the 2020 elections only if the courts hold the existing districts unconstitutional.