• Summary date: Apr 5 2019 - More information

    Includes whereas clauses.

    Establishes the NC Hope Tuition Waiver Program (Program) to waive the cost of tuition for up to two years for students who (1) graduate from a cooperative innovate high school, (2) earn at least an associate degree prior to graduation from the high school, and (3) meet enrollment requirements and attend Elizabeth City State University, the University of North Carolina at Pembroke, or Western Carolina University. Requires the State to "buy down" the amount of any financial obligation resulting from the waiver of tuition that may be incurred by those universities. Sets out student eligibility requirements.

    Makes conforming changes to GS 116-143.11. 

    Effective July 1, 2019, and applies beginning with the 2019-20 school year.

© 2022 School of Government The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

This work is copyrighted and subject to "fair use" as permitted by federal copyright law. No portion of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without the express written permission of the publisher. Distribution by third parties is prohibited. Prohibited distribution includes, but is not limited to, posting, e-mailing, faxing, archiving in a public database, installing on intranets or servers, and redistributing via a computer network or in printed form. Unauthorized use or reproduction may result in legal action against the unauthorized user.

Printer-friendly: Click to view