Bill Summary for S 745 (2021-2022)

Printer-friendly: Click to view

Summary date: 

Feb 17 2022

Bill Information:

View NCGA Bill Details2021
Senate Bill 745 (Public) Filed Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Intro. by Hise, Newton, Daniel.

View: All Summaries for BillTracking:

Bill summary

Senate committee substitute to the 1st edition amends GS 163-201 to divide North Carolina into 14 congressional districts to nominate and elect members of the U.S. House of Representatives in 2022 as follows. District 1 includes the following counties: Bertie County, Chowan County, Edgecombe County, Franklin County, Gates County, portions of Granville County, Greene County, Halifax County, Hertford County, Martin County, Nash County, Northampton County, Pasquotank County, Perquimans County, portions of Pitt County, Vance County, Warren County, portions of Wayne County, and Wilson County. District 2 includes portions of Wake County. District 3 consists of the following counties: Beaufort County, Camden County, Carteret County, Craven County, Currituck County, Dare County, Hyde County, Jones County, Lenoir County, Onslow County, Pamlico County, Pender County, portions of Pitt County, Tyrrell County, and Washington County. District 4 includes portions of Alamance County, Caswell County, Durham County, portions of Granville County, Orange County, and Person County. District 5 includes Alleghany County, Ashe County, Forsyth County, portions of Rockingham County, Stokes County, Surry County, Watauga County, Wilkes County, and portions of Yadkin County. District 6 includes portions of Alamance County, Chatham County, portions of Guilford County, Harnett County, Lee County, Randolph County, and portions of Rockingham County. District 7 includes Bladen County, Brunswick County, portions of Columbus County, Cumberland County, and New Hanover County. District 8 includes Cabarrus County, portions of Davidson County, portions of Guilford County, and portions of Rowan County. District 9 includes Anson County, portions of Columbus County, portions of Davidson County, Hoke County, Montgomery County, Moore County, Richmond County, Robeson County, Scotland County, Stanly County, and Union County. District 10 includes the following counties: Alexander County, Avery County, Burke County, Caldwell County, Catawba County, Davie County, Iredell County, Lincoln County, portions of McDowell County, portions of Rowan County, and portions of Yadkin County. District 11 includes the following counties: Buncombe County, Cherokee County, Clay County, Graham County, Haywood County, Henderson County, Jackson County, Macon County, Madison County, portions of McDowell County, Mitchell County, Polk County, portions of Rutherford County, Swain County, Transylvania County, and Yancey County. District 12 includes portions of Mecklenburg County. District 13 consists of Duplin County, Johnston County, Sampson County, portions of Wake County, and portions of Wayne County. District 14 consists of Cleveland County, Gaston County, and portions of Mecklenburg County. 

Conditions the above apportionment of districts upon its approval or adoption by the Wake County Superior Court in identified cases and the denial by the NC Supreme Court of any motion to stay the approval or adoption of such districts, unless the US Supreme Court or a federal court reverses or stays the specified February 2022 NC Supreme Court order or opinion holding unconstitutional GS 163-201, as it existed prior to the enactment of this act, in which case the prior enactment is effective. 

Changes the act's titles.