Bill Summary for S 744 (2021-2022)

Printer-friendly: Click to view

Summary date: 

Feb 16 2022

Bill Information:

View NCGA Bill Details2021
Senate Bill 744 (Public) Filed Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Intro. by Hise, Newton, Daniel.

View: All Summaries for BillTracking:

Bill summary

Senate committee substitute to the 1st edition provides the following.

Amends GS 120-1 to establish boundaries for 50 single-member senatorial districts for the purpose of nominating and electing members of the Senate in 2022. The districts are composed of the following counties: District 1: Carteret County, Chowan County, Dare County, Hyde County, Pamlico County, Pasquotank County, Perquimans County, Washington County; District 2: Beaufort County, Craven County, Lenoir County; District 3: Bertie County, Camden County, Currituck County, Gates County, Halifax County, Hertford County, Martin County, Northampton County, Tyrrell County, Warren County; District 4: Greene County, Wayne County, Wilson County; District 5: Edgecombe County, Pitt County; District 6: Onslow County; District 7: New Hanover County (portions listed); District 8: Brunswick County, Columbus County, New Hanover County (portions listed); District 9: Bladen County, Duplin County, Jones County, Pender County, Sampson County (portions listed); District 10: Johnston County; District 11: Franklin County, Nash County, Vance County; District 12: Harnett County, Lee County, Sampson County (portions listed); District 13: Wake County (portions listed); District 14: Wake County (portions listed); District 15: Wake County (portions listed); District 16: Wake County (portions listed); District 17: Wake County (portions listed); District 18: Granville County, Wake County (portions listed); District 19: Cumberland County (portions listed); District 20: Chatham County, Durham County (portions listed); District 21: Cumberland County (portions listed), Moore County; District 22: Durham County (portions listed); District 23: Caswell County, Orange County, Person County; District 24: Hoke County, Robeson County, Scotland County; District 25: Alamance County, Randolph County (portions listed); District 26: Guilford County (portions listed), Rockingham County; District 27: Guilford County (portions listed); District 28: Guilford County (portions listed); District 29: Anson County, Montgomery County, Randolph County (portions listed),  Richmond County, Union County (portions listed); District 30: Davidson County, Davie County; District 31: Forsyth County (portions listed), Stokes County; District 32: Forsyth County (portions listed); District 33: Rowan County, Stanly County; District 34: Cabarrus County (portions listed); District 35: Cabarrus County (portions listed), Union County (portions listed); District 36: Alexander County, Surry County, Wilkes County, Yadkin County; District 37: Iredell County, Mecklenburg County (portions listed); District 38: Mecklenburg County (portions listed); District 39: Mecklenburg County (portions listed); District 40: Mecklenburg County (portions listed); District 41: Mecklenburg County (portions listed); District 42: Mecklenburg County (portions listed); District 43: Gaston County (portions listed); District 44: Cleveland County, Gaston County (portions listed), Lincoln County; District 45: Caldwell County (portions listed), Catawba County; District 46: Buncombe County (portions listed), Burke County, McDowell County; District 47: Alleghany County, Ashe County, Avery County, Caldwell County (portions listed), Haywood County (portions listed), Madison County, Mitchell County, Watauga County, Yancey County; District 48: Henderson County, Polk County, Rutherford County; District 49: Buncombe County (portions listed); District 50: Cherokee County, Clay County, Graham County, Haywood County (portions listed), Jackson County, Macon County, Swain County, Transylvania County.

Conditions the above apportionment of districts upon its approval or adoption by the Wake County Superior Court in identified cases and the denial by the NC Supreme Court of any motion to stay the approval or adoption of such districts, unless the US Supreme Court or a federal court reverses or stays the specified February 2022 NC Supreme Court order or opinion holding unconstitutional GS 120-1, as it existed prior to the enactment of this act, in which case the prior enactment is effective. 

Changes the act's short title.