Bill Summary for S 738 (2021-2022)

Printer-friendly: Click to view

Summary date: 

Oct 28 2021

Bill Information:

View NCGA Bill Details2021
Senate Bill 738 (Public) Filed Thursday, October 28, 2021
Intro. by Chaudhuri.

View: All Summaries for BillTracking:

Bill summary

Amends GS 163-201 to divide North Carolina into 14 congressional districts to nominate and elect members of the U.S. House of Representatives in 2022 and every two years thereafter, as follows. District 1 includes the following counties: Bertie, Chowan, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt (portions listed), Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne (portions listed), and Wilson. District 2 includes portions of Wake County. District 3 includes the following counties: Beaufort, Camden, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender (portions listed), Pitt (portions listed), and Tyrrell. District 4 includes the following counties: Alamance, Caswell, Durham County (portions specified), Orange, Person, and Rockingham (portions listed). District 5 includes the following counties: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke (portions listed), Caldwell, Forsyth (portions listed), Rockingham (portions listed), Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin. District 6 includes Forsyth County (portions listed) and Guilford County. District 7 includes the following counties: Bladen (portions listed), Brunswick, Columbus, Johnston (portions listed), New Hanover, Pender (portions listed), Sampson, and Wayne (portions listed). District 8 includes the following counties: Cabarrus (portions listed), Davidson, Davie, Iredell (portions listed), Randolph, and Rowan. District 9 includes the following counties: Cabarrus (portions listed),  Mecklenburg (portions listed), Stanly, and Union. District 10 includes the following counties: Burke (portions listed), Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell (portions listed), Lincoln, and Rutherford (portions listed). District 11 includes the following counties: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford (portions listed), Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey. District 12 includes specified part of Mecklenburg County. District 13 includes the following counties: Chatham, Durham (portions listed), Harnett, Johnston (portions listed), Lee, and Wake (portions listed). District 14 includes the following counties: Anson, Bladen (portions listed), Cumberland, Hoke, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Robeson, and Scotland. Applies to elections held on or after January 1, 2022.

The proposed map and associated files can be found here:\Member%20Submitted%20Maps\CST-8.