Bill Summary for S 696 (2019-2020)

Printer-friendly: Click to view
Bill: HISEC-1.

Summary date: 

Nov 13 2019

Bill Information:

View NCGA Bill Details2019-2020 Session
Senate Bill 696 (Public) Filed Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Intro. by Hise.

View: All Summaries for BillTracking:

Bill summary

Amends GS 163-201(a) to set forth the 13 congressional districts to be used in nominating and electing members of the US House of Representatives in 2020. Provides for the makeup of the districts as follows.

District 1 consists of: Bertie County; Edgecombe County; Franklin County; Granville County; Halifax County; Hertford County; Martin County; Nash County; Northampton County; portions of Pitt County; Vance County; portions of Wake County; Warren County; and Wilson County. 

District 2 consists of: Beaufort County; Camden County; Carteret County; Chowan County; Craven County; Currituck County; Dare County; portions of Duplin County; Gates County; Hyde County; Jones County; portions of Lenoir County; Onslow County; Pamlico County; Pasquotank County; Perquimans county; portions of Pitt County; Tyrrell County; and Washington County.

District 3 consists of: Bladen County; Brunswick County; Columbus County; portions of Cumberland County; portions of Duplin County; Hoke County; New Hanover County; Pender County; Robeson County; and Sampson County. 

District 4 consists of: portions of Cumberland County; Greene County; Harnett County; Johnston County; portions of Lenior County; and Wayne County. 

District 5 consists of: portions of Wake County. 

District 6 consists of: Chatham County; Durham County; Lee County; portions of Moore County; Orange County; and portions of Wake County. 

District 7 consists of: Anson County, portions of Davidson County; portions of Guilford County; portions of Mecklenburg County; Montgomery County; portions of Moore County; Randolph County; Richmond County; Scotland County; and Union County. 

District 8 consists of: Cabarrus County; portions of Davidson County; Davie County; Iredell County; Rowan County; and Stanly County. 

District 9 consists of: portions of Forsyth County; and portions of Guilford County.

District 10 consists of: Alamance County; Alleghany County; Ashe County; portions of Caldwell County; Caswell County; portions of Forsyth County; Person County; Rockingham County; Stokes County; Surry County; portions of Watauga County; Wilkes County; and Yadkin County.  

District 11 consists of: Avery County; Buncombe County; Cherokee County; Clay County; Graham County; Haywood County; Henderson County; Jackson County; Macon County; Madison County; McDowell County; Mitchell County; Polk County; Swain County; Transylvania County; portions of Watauga County; and Yancey County.

District 12 consists of: Alexander County; Burke County; portions of Caldwell County; Catawba County; Cleveland County; Gaston County; Lincoln County; and Rutherford County.

District 13 consists of: portions of Mecklenburg County.

Specifies that the districts presented are effective for the 2020 elections only if the courts hold the existing districts unconstitutional.