Bill Summary for H 825 (2011-2012)

Printer-friendly: Click to view

Summary date: 

Apr 7 2011

Bill Information:

View NCGA Bill Details2011-2012 Session
House Bill 825 (Public) Filed Wednesday, April 6, 2011
Intro. by Glazier.

View: All Summaries for BillTracking:

Bill summary

Creates the Joint Legislative Study Commission on Methamphetamine Prevention (Commission). Provides for the appointment of eight members with two appointments by the Governor, three appointments by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and three members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Provides additional qualifications for the appointment of members by the respective appointing authorities and provides that vacancies are to be filled by the appointing authority. Declares that five members constitute a quorum of the Commission. Provides for the appointment of co-chairs, the assignment of professional and clerical staff, members’ expenses, the meeting location, and the calling of meetings.
States that the purpose of the Commission is to consider whether North Carolina should adopt an electronic tracking blocking system similar to the system adopted in South Carolina, to prevent the illegal sale of pseudoephedrine drugs, instead of the current manual log used in this state. Also directs the Commission to consider in its study the Methamphetamine Lab Prevention Act of 2005 that was enacted by the South Carolina legislature.
Requires the Commission to submit an interim report to the 2012 Regular Session of the 2011 General Assembly prior to its reconvening and make a final report to the 2013 Regular Session of the General Assembly prior to its convening. Specifies that the report is to contain the Commission’s findings, recommendations, legislative proposals, and cost analyses. Directs the Commission to terminate upon the filing of its final report or the convening of the 2013 General Assembly, whichever is earlier.
Directs the Legislative Services Commission to allocate funds to support the study from the funds appropriated to the General Assembly for the 2011-12 and 2012-13 fiscal years.
Effective July 1, 2011.