Printer-friendly: Click to view
View NCGA Bill Details2019-2020 Session
Senate Bill 698 (Public) Filed Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Intro. by Hise, Newton.

Status: Ref To Com On Rules and Operations of the Senate (Senate action) (Nov 14 2019)

Bill History:

S 698

Bill Summaries:

  • Summary date: Nov 13 2019 - View Summary

    Amends GS 163-201(a) to set forth the 13 congressional districts to be used in nominating and electing members of the US House of Representatives in 2020. Provides for the makeup of the districts as follows.

    District 1 consists of: Bertie County; Chowan County; Edgecombe County; Franklin County; Gates County; Greene County; Halifax County; Hertford County; Martin County; Nash County; Northampton County; Perquimans County; portions of Pitt County; portions of Warren County; Washington County; Wayne County; and Wilson County.

    District 2 consists of: portions of Wake County.

    District 3 consists of: Beaufort County; Camden County; Carteret County; Craven County; Currituck County; Dare County; Duplin County; Hyde County; Jones County; Lenoir County; Onslow County; Pamlico County; Pasquotank County; portions of Pitt County; and Tyrrell County.

    District 4 consists of: portions of Chatham County; Durham County; Granville County; Orange County; Vance County; portions of Wake County; and portions of Warren County.

    District 5 consists of: Alexander County; Alleghany County; Ashe County; Avery County; Burke County; Caldwell County; portions of Catawba County; Cleveland County; Gaston County; portions of McDowell County; Watauga County; and Wilkes County.

    District 6 consists of: portions of Forsyth County; and Guilford County.

    District 7 consists of: Bladen County; Brunswick County; Columbus County; portions of Cumberland County; Johnston County; New Hanover County; Pender County; and Sampson County.

    District 8 consists of: Cabarrus County; portions of Cumberland County; Harnett County; portions of Lee County; Montgomery County; portions of Moore County; and Stanly County.

    District 9 consists of: Anson County; Hoke County; portions of Mecklenburg County; portions of Moore County; Richmond County; Robeson County; Scotland County; and Union County.

    District 10 consists of: portions of Catawba County; portions of Forsyth County; portions of Iredell County; Lincoln County; Rockingham County; Stokes County; Surry County; and Yadkin County.

    District 11 consists of: Buncombe County; Cherokee County; Clay County; Graham County; Haywood County; Henderson County; Jackson County; Macon County; Madison County; portions of McDowell County; Mitchell County; Polk County; Rutherford County; Swain County; Transylvania County; and Yancey County.

    District 12 consists of: portions of Mecklenburg County.

    District 13 consists of: Alamance County; Caswell County; portions of Chatham County; Davidson County; Davie County; portions of Iredell County; portions of Lee County; Person County; Randolph County; and Rowan County. 

    Specifies that the districts presented are effective for the 2020 elections only if the courts hold the existing districts unconstitutional.