Printer-friendly: Click to view
View NCGA Bill Details2019-2020 Session
House Bill 1025 (Public) Filed Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Intro. by Floyd, Willingham.

Status: Ref To Com On Redistricting (House action) (Nov 13 2019)

Bill History:

H 1025

Bill Summaries:

  • Summary date: Nov 13 2019 - View Summary

    Amends GS 163-201(a) to set forth the 13 congressional districts to be used in nominating and electing members of the US House of Representatives in 2020. Provides for the makeup of the districts as follows.

    District 1 consists of: Anson County; portions of Bladen County; Cumberland County; Hoke County; Montgomery County; Moore County; Richmond County; Robeson County; and Scotland County.

    District 2 consists of: portions of Bladen County; Brunswick County; Columbus County; Duplin County; New Hanover County; portions of Onslow County; Pender County; and Sampson County.

    District 3 consists of: Beaufort County; Bertie County; Camden County; Carteret County; Chowan County; Craven County; Currituck County; Dare County; Gates County; Greene County; portions of Hertford County; Hyde County; Jones County; Lenoir County; Martin County; portions of Onslow County; Pamlico County; Pasquotank County; Perquimans County; Pitt County; Tyrrell County; and Washington County. 

    District 4 consists of: portions of Durham County; Edgecombe County; Franklin County; Granville County; Halifax County; portions of Hertford County; Nash County; Northampton County; Vance County; Warren County; and Wilson County.

    District 5 consists of: portions of Chatham County; portions of Durham County; Harnett County; Johnston County; Lee County; portions of Wake County; and Wayne County.

    District 6 consists of: portions of Wake County.

    District 7 consists of: portions of Chatham County; Davidson County; portions of Guilford County; and Randolph County.

    District 8 consists of : Alamance County; Caswell County; portions of Forsyth County; portions of Guilford County; Orange County; Person County; Rockingham County; and Stokes County. 

    District 9 consists of: portions of Alexander County; Alleghany County; Ashe County; Davie County; portions of Forsyth County; Iredell County; Rowan County; Surry County; Wilkes County; and Yadkin County.

    District 10 consists of: portions of Gaston County; Lincoln County; and portions of Mecklenburg County.

    District 11 consists of: Avery County; Buncombe County; Cherokee County; Clay County; Graham County; Haywood County; Henderson County; Jackson County; Macon County; Madison County; Mitchell County; Polk County; portions of Rutherford County; Swain County; Transylvania County; Watauga County; and Yancey County.

    District 12 consists of: Cabarrus County; portions of Mecklenburg County; Stanly County; and Union County.

    District 13 consists of: portions of Alexander County; Burke County; Caldwell County; Catawba County; Cleveland County; portions of Gaston County; McDowell County; and portions of Rutherford County.

    Specifies that the districts presented are effective for the 2020 elections only if the courts hold the existing districts unconstitutional.