Bill Summaries: S527 (2015-2016 Session)

  • Summary date: Mar 27 2015 - View summary

    Appropriates $20,615 in recurring funds in fiscal year 2015-16 and $41,854 in fiscal year 2016-17 to provide three scholarships for members of the Wounded Warrior Program in order to complete a motorsports technology, motorsports management, race car technology, or similar program or concentration at a community college in North Carolina or constituent institution of UNC. Allows the State Education Assistance Authority (SEAA) to use up to 3.5 percent to administer the scholarships. Directs the SEAA to select the three recipients of the scholarships. Provides that it is the intent of the General Assembly that the scholarship recipients be North Carolinians with long-term, enduring connections to the state. Allows for an individual that meets the residency and connection requirement but is stationed out of the state or country to receive a scholarship as well. 

    Sets out five requirements that a student must meet in order to be eligible for the scholarships, including that the student must be seeking to complete a program or concentration in the disciplines described above and that the student must meet specific academic standards and progress.

    Provides that $20,000 of the recurring funds appropriated from the Education Lottery Fund to the SEAA for the 2015-16 fiscal year and $20,000 for the 2016-17 fiscal year must be used to market the availability of the new scholarships to the members of the Wounded Warrior Program associated with Fort Bragg, Camp Lejeune, other armed forces facilities in North Carolina, and anywhere North Carolinians meeting the requirements are likely to reside.

    Effective July 1, 2015.