Bill Summaries: H166 (2019-2020 Session)

  • Summary date: Feb 25 2019 - View summary

    Amends GS 7A-133, increasing the number of district court judges in District 22A (consisting of Alexander and Iredell Counties) from five to six. Requires Iredell County residency for four (was, three) of the six judgeships. Effective January 1, 2021. Mandates 2020 elections be conducted in accordance with the judgeships created by the act.

    Further amends GS 7A-133, increasing the minimum number of magistrates in Iredell County from nine to ten. 

    Appropriates from the General Fund to the Administrative Office of the Courts $67,603 for 2019-20 and $173,808 for 2020-21.

    Effective July 1, 2019.